Abstract Wonders: The Beauty All Around You

For my final project for my photography class, I was originally planning to make a book showcasing the intersection of the city and nature in Madison, slowing down enough to capture photos of wildlife, water and vegetation near the city. Once I discovered the long, flowing, hair-like algae on the rocks near the shores of Lake Monona, this project quickly morphed into a collection of abstract photos of algae, moss and water. The simple things around you that you don’t see unless you really look.

The assignments in my digital photography class, outlined here in a previous post, provided me with the inspiration and skills to capture moments such as these.

 

IMG_6327IMG_6371IMG_6480IMG_6599IMG_6604IMG_6673

Resized_20170503_134915
My prints on display in the Humanities building on campus

Although I didn’t make a book about the intersection of city and nature, I think that this project accomplishes the same goal. The photos turned out very abstract and open to interpretation. They allow the viewer to see and understand them in their own way, and realize that these stunning views are not difficult to access. They were taken on the edge of the lake, and the only reason I was able to capture them was because I took the time to step off the bike path, sit on the rocks at the edge of the water, and look in.

Although they are still photos, they capture the life, motion, and reflection of the surrounding world, immersing the viewer into a specific moment in time.

Leave a comment